Skip to content Skip to footer

Ajinkya Rahane & Krunal Pandya fan favourites in IPL Election se Selection


In a first-of-its-kind election, cricket fans have cast their votes in Star Sportsa IPLAElection Se SelectionAcampaign, electing their choicest players to play this season.


The online voting contest which began on 15thAJanuary 2018 received an impressive response from fans across India. The pool of players, for the fans to choose from, included two categories a 30 Star Players and 20 Uncapped Players. Voting closed on 25thAJanuar 2018.

Who have the IPL Fans Voted for?

AAmong theAStar PlayersAcategory,ABrendon McCullumAwas the top choice forAChennai Super Kings (26%)AandARajasthan Royals fans (46%).AAjinkya Rahane, who played for Rising Pune Supergiants team in Season 10, emerged as the top choice forADelhi Daredevils (41%)AandAKings XI Punjab fans (22%).

Ben StokesAemerged as the most favorite, voted in by fans for 7 out of 8 teams. Royal Challenger Bengaluru fans, on the other hand, voted forAChris GayleAto return to the team in this season of the league.

In theAUncapped PlayersAcategory,AKrunal PandyaAemerged as the top choice forAMumbai Indians (49%)AandARoyal Challengers BangaloreA(27%).ABasil ThampiAemerged as the leading choice of fans from 7 out of 8 teams.AAvesh KhanAgarnered top votes from fans forADelhi Daredevils (38%)AandARajasthan Royals (53%).

  • CSK fansAwere the most active franchise followed by Mumbai Indians & RCB
  • Ben StokesA&ABasil ThampiAmade their mark as favorites, being elected by fans in the top 3 across 7 franchises in their respective categories

With just a day to go for the much-awaited VIVO IPL 2018 Player Auction, the first glimpse of popular players can be seen in the fan selections. It remains to be seen whether these players will make it to the final teams that will be built during the auction. Catch all the live action of theAVIVO IPL 2018APlayer Auction onA27thA& 28thAJanuary, 9 am onwardsAon the Star Sports network and Hotstar.

Leave a comment