35 C
October 15, 2018
Asia Bangladesh Cricket India India Pakistan Sri Lanka

Kohli rested, Rohit Sharma to captain India for Asia Cup

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian team during the Asia Cup 2018 with regular skipper Virat Kohli being rested from the 16-member squad for the upcoming tournament.

Rohit Sharma

Shikhar Dhawan will be the vice-captain. Manish Pandey, Ambati Rayudu, and Kedar Jadhav have been recalled to the squad while Suresh Raina, Umesh Yadav, and Siddarth Kaul, who all featured in the ODI squad on England tour, are among the ones to miss out.

The BCCI has released the squad for Asia Cup 2018 at its official Twitter handle @bcci.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (Wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhubaneswar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur and Khaleel Ahmed.

India’s Asia Cup campaign kicks off on September 18 with a game against one of the qualifying teams. They play their second game the very next day against arch-rivals Pakistan and should they finish among the top two sides from their group, they will make it to the Super four stage with starts from September 21 while the final will be held on September 28.

Related posts

AIFF announce 29-man squad for two-day camp before China friendly

Gaurav Kadam

Twitter Reacts as M S Dhoni steps down as India limited overs captain

Aakash Malvankar

Shillong Lajong Bank On Dickaa��s Brace To Down Mumbai FC 3-1

Gaurav Kadam

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More