Skip to content Skip to footer

Kings XI Punjab : Can New Leadership Inspire Them to Success ?

Led by the ‘Big Show’ Glenn Maxwell, the Kings XI Punjab will enterAthe 10th season of the IPL toAfinally take another shot to stake claim to the title.

The KXIP have come excruciatingly close to the winning the IPL twice; the first season and the 7th season. Yuvraj Singh led the Punjab side in their campaign in the IPL season 1 when they ended up being semi-finalists. And since then, they seemed toAhave lost the plot for victory until the 7th season came around.

The 7th season saw Glenn Maxwell make his debut for the Punjab side and take the league by storm. Kings XI Punjab unfortunately ended up losing the final in the last over of the match.

Maxwell will take on the role of captain this season after being chosen ahead of Murali Vijay as skipper. The swashbuckling Aussie would hope he will not let the burden of captaincy affect his fast game.


Kings XI Punjab have a stacked batting lineup with the likes of Shaun Marsh, David Miller, Eoin Morgan and skipper Glenn Maxwell. They have a couple of decent all-rounders, in Australian Marcus Stoinis and the two-time T20 World Cup winning captain of the West Indies a Darren Sammy. Indian Players like the experienced Murali Vijay and the handy Axar Patel add their value to the KXIP roster.


Kings XI Punjab have a lack of spin in their bowling attack with Axar Patel being their only experienced option.

Full squad:

Existing Players: David Miller, Manan Vohra, Axar Patel, Glenn Maxwell, Gurkeerat Singh, Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Shaun Marsh, Wriddhiman Saha, Murali Vijay, Nikhil Naik, Mohit Sharma, Marcus Stoinis, KC Cariappa, Armaan Jaffer, Pardeep Sahu, Swapnil Singh, Hashim Amla.

Players Bought: Eoin Morgan (2 Cr), Rahul Tewatia (25 Lakhs), T Natarajan (3 Cr), Matt Henry (50 Lakhs), Varun Aaron (2.80 Cr), Martin Guptill (50 Lakh), Darren Sammy (30 Lakh), Rinku Singh (10 Lakh)

Key Players: Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, Eoin Morgan

Sportz DoseAPrediction:AKXIP will probably miss out on the playoffs

List of Matches:

1.KXIP vs Rising Pune Supergiant, April 8, 2017, 16:00 IST
2.KXIP vs RCB, April 10, 2017, 20:00 IST
3.KKR vs KXIP, April 13, 2017, 20:00 IST
4.Delhi Daredevils vs KXIP, April 15, 2017, 20:00 IST
5.SRH vs KXIP, April 17, 2017, 20:00 IST
6.KXIP vs Mumbai Indians, April 20, 2017, 20:00 IST
7.Gujarat Lions vs KXIP, April 23, 2017, 16:00 IST
8.KXIP vs SRH, April 28, 2017, 20:00 IST
9.KXIP vs Delhi Daredevils, April 30, 2017, 16:00 IST
10.RCB vs KXIP, May 5, 2017, 20:00 IST
11.KXIP vs Gujarat Lions, May 7, 2017, 20:00 IST
12.KXIP vs KKR, May 9, 2017, 20:00 IST
13.Mumbai Indians vs KXIP, May 11, 2017, 20:00 IST
14.Rising Pune Supergiant vs KXIP, May 14, 2017, 16:00 IST

Leave a comment