Skip to content Skip to footer

Indian team for Kabaddi Masters Dubai announced; Ajay Thakur named captain

Ajay Thakur Kabaddi India Masters Dubai

Tamil Thalaivas star raider Ajay Thakur has been appointed as the captain of the Indian kabaddi side that is set to fly to Dubai to participate in the Kabaddi Masters tournament, later this month.

Ajay Thakur Kabaddi India Masters Dubai

The Kabaddi Masters tournament is set to take place in Dubai, with international heavyweights like India, Pakistan, Iran, Kenya, Argentina and South Korea set to take part in a week-long event that will commence on June 22 and culminate on June 30

In a release, the Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India (AKFI) announced the 14-man team that has been chosen to play in the competition and features a host of stars that were part of the recently concluded Pro Kabaddi League Season 6 auction.

The meeting of Selection Committee of the Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India (AKFI) was held on 26th of May in order to select the Indian Men’s Kabaddi Team, for the approaching tournament.

The meeting was attended by Mr. Balwan Singh, Mr. Rambir Singh Khokhar, Mr. Ram Mehar Singh and Mr. L. Srinivas Reddy.

Indian Squad:

Girish Maruti Ernak, Surender Nada, Sandeep Dhull, Mohit Chhillar, Raju Lal Choudhary, Surjeet Singh, Deepak Niwas Hooda, Pardeep Narwal, Rahul Chaudhari, Rishank Devadiga, Monu Goyat, Ajay Thakur, Rohit Kumar, Manjeet Chhillar.

Standby: Maninder Singh, Sachin Tanwar

India has been one of the most successful countries in Kabaddi so far, and will go into the Kabaddi Masters as the clear favorites to win the tournament, alongside 2016 finalists Iran.

Thakur has already captained the Tamil Thalaivas in the Pro Kabaddi League previously, and it will be interesting to see how he copes up with the pressure of leading the national side. Whatever be the case, he will still have experienced heads like Manjeet, Deepak, and Rohit to guide him in his new role.

Leave a comment