A training camp for the Women’s National Team kicked-off in Cuttack on December 28, 2018. A total of 32 players have been summoned by coach Maymol Rocky for the camp, which is part of the preparation for the SAFF Championship, and also the 2nd round of the AFC Olympic Qualifiers.

“We have called up a number of new names. I look forward to seeing what they have to offer to the team,” Maymol stated. “We were looking to bring in players who are not only technically skilled but are also aggressive and determined. We have scouted extensively before zeroing down on the names,” she added.

The Head Coach thanked All India Football Federation (AIFF) for organizing the camp, stating its duration is ideal for the team’s preparation.

“This is the first time we are having such a long camp, and with three-and-a-half months of the training period. I feel we can build a strong and cohesive side. I would like to thank the AIFF for their continuous support and long-term vision,” she maintained.

The 32 players summoned for the camp are as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Aditi Chauhan, M. Linthoingambi Devi, Sowmiya N, Shreya Hooda.

DEFENDERS: Ashalata Devi, Michelle Castanha, Jabamani Tudu, Poly Koley, Dalima Chhibber, Sweety Devi, Lako Bhutia, Phijam Sanathokpi Devi, Pakpi Devi, Poonam Sharma.

MIDFIELDERS: Sangita Basfore, Sanju Yadav, Sumithra Kamaraj, Mamta, Grace Lalrampari, Ranjita Devi, Indumathi Kathiresan, Arati Sethi.

FORWARDS: Pyari Xaxa, Ranjana Chanu, Anju Tamang, Ratanbala Devi, Dangmei Grace, A. Roja Devi, R. Sandhiya Ranganathan, Renu, Manisha, Techi Akung.


Computer engineer bit by the sports bug.

Leave A Reply