New Delhi, 27th July 2023: The Indian Women’s Hockey Team came from behind to register a thrilling 2-2 draw against the hosts Spain in their second game of the 100th Anniversary Spanish Hockey Federation – International Tournament on Thursday in Barcelona, Spain. For India, Navneet Kaur (14′, 29′) scored a brace, while Xantal Gine (13′) and Laia Vidosa struck (26′) were the goal-scorers for Spain.

The first quarter began with Spain using the home ground advantage to put pressure on the Indian defence. But with Navneet Kaur starting an Indian attack from the right flank, Spain’s defence had to remain cautious. A long pass from a Spanish player allowed Marta Segu to penetrate inside the circle and go one-on-one against Savita. But, the Indian goalkeeper stood tall to avert the danger. Late in the first quarter, Spain launched a counter-attack and Xantal Gine (13′) converted a goal to give hosts the lead. But Navneet Kaur (14′) managed to make the most of a long pass inside the circle and equalised straightaway for India.

With the scores levelled, both India and Spain started searching for a quick goal. Deepika broke through Spain’s defence to enter inside the circle and managed to get a shot away. The ball went just above the nets, giving the opposition a respite. With just a few minutes left in the quarter, Spain made the most of a penalty corner as Laia Vidosa (26′) struck the ball into the nets following a save from the Indian goalkeeper Savita, and Spain regained their lead. But Navneet Kaur (29′) showcased her brilliance once again, as she dribbled past the Spanish defence to score the equaliser for India and the game remained level at 2-2 at halftime.

The second half started with the Indian Women’s Hockey Team showcasing their intent straightaway to get the lead. Vaishnavi Vitthal Phalke dribbled past the Spain defence, causing them to commit an error and earning India a crucial penalty corner. Spain goalkeeper Clara Perez deflected the danger and the scores remained level. With Neha Goyal dominating midfield, India maintained possession and kept pushing inside Spain’s half. But Perez kept stopping the shots on target and managed to hold off India.

With 15 minutes left on the clock, the Indian Women’s Hockey Team started showcasing urgency to get the winning goal. Sangita Kumari received a sensational pass inside the circle to score the goal, but the Spain goalkeeper managed to stop her in her tracks. Late in the final quarter, Spain earned a penalty corner, putting pressure on the Indian defence. But the Indian goalkeeper managed to deflect the ball away and the match ended in a 2-2 draw.

Indian Women’s Hockey Team will next take on England in their third game of the tournament on 28th July 2023 at 16:30 hrs IST. 

Fans in India can view all the matches of the 100th Anniversary Spanish Hockey Federation – International Tournament on and Watch.Hockey.


Odisha (India’s Best Kept Secret) – Major Team Partner  

Sports Authority of India (SAI)  

Shiv Naresh    


HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body with exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men and women’s hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible towards promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).

Committed to the development of Hockey in the country, Hockey India with the assistance of Sports Authority of India and Department of Sports, Government of India, trains players at sub-junior, junior and senior level. The governing body engages in Coaching the coaches with International Standard certification programs, educates and equips technical officials and umpires to find a foothold in international arena, provides world-class infrastructure and International exposure for the players besides regular international competition. Hockey India has also pioneered in bringing top International hockey events to India such as the FIH Men’s World Cup in 2010 and 2018, FIH Champions Trophy in 2014, FIH Junior Men’s World Cup in 2016 and 2021, FIH Hockey World League Final in 2017. With its vision to popularize the game and constantly promote it, Hockey India brought the Indian Men’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world. Hockey India is also dedicated to getting the Indian Women’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world.

Odisha – the Eastern State of India – is known for its love for Hockey and over the years it has evolved to be the Global Hub of Hockey. The State successfully hosted the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018, followed by the FIH Men’s Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha, FIH Olympic Qualifiers Odisha, and FIH Hockey Pro League 2020-21. Odisha has previously hosted the Champions Trophy 2014 and the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. Odisha also hosted the FIH Men’s Hockey Junior World Cup in 2021.

Kalinga Lancers, the team owned by the State, were the winners in the Hockey India League 2017. Taking a step further towards realising the dream of restoring the glory of Indian Hockey at the global level, the State is sponsoring the Indian Hockey Teams till 2033.

Odisha also hosted the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023.


Leave A Reply