Bengaluru, 23rd August 2023: The Indian Women’s Hockey Team left to take part in the Women’s Asian Hockey 5s World Cup Qualifier today. The tournament will be held from 25th to 28th August in Salalah, Oman.

India have been placed in the Elite Pool along with Japan, Malaysia, and Thailand. While the second, Challengers Pool, consists of Hong Kong China, Chinese Taipei, Indonesia, Bangladesh, Iran, and Oman.

The squad heading to Salalah will be led by Team Captain Navjot Kaur and Jyoti will be the Vice Captain.  The team includes goalkeeper Bansari Solanki. In the defence, Akshata Abaso Dhekale, Mahima Chaudhary, and Sonia Devi Kshetrimayum will be in action. Captain Navjot Kaur and Ajmina Kujur will hold the midfield area, while Mariana Kujur, Jyoti, and Dipi Monika Toppo will be playing as forwards.

India will compete against their Elite counterparts in a bid to finish in the top two spots in their pool and qualify for the Semi-Finals, starting with their clash against Malaysia on 25th August. Followed by contests with Japan on 26th August and Thailand on 27th August.

Indian Women’s Hockey Team Coach Soundarya Yendala expressed her thoughts ahead of the tournament, “We cannot wait to get on with the tournament. A lot of effort has gone into the preparation for the Women’s Asian Hockey 5s World Cup Qualifier and the aim is to play well throughout the tournament and hopefully reap the benefits of our hard work with winning the Tournament.”

Team Captain Navjot Kaur was bullish about the chances of India winning the Women’s Asian Hockey 5s World Cup Qualifier. “We have to face some strong teams in our pool but with the amount of work that we have put in to be ready for this tournament I am confident that we will put our best foot forward and return home, medals in hand, “she signed off.

Schedule of the Indian Women’s Hockey Team:On 25th August 2023, India Vs Malaysia at 1530 hrs IST.On 26th August 2023, India vs Japan at 2130 hrs IST.On 27th August 2023, India vs Thailand at 1430 hrs IST. 

For more pictures, login to the Hockey India Photo library:


Odisha (India’s Best Kept Secret) – Major Team Partner

Sports Authority of India (SAI)

Shiv Naresh 


HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body with exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men and women’s hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible towards promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).

Committed to the development of Hockey in the country, Hockey India with the assistance of Sports Authority of India and Department of Sports, Government of India, trains players at sub-junior, junior and senior level. The governing body engages in Coaching the coaches with International Standard certification programs, educates and equips technical officials and umpires to find a foothold in international arena, provides world-class infrastructure and International exposure for the players besides regular international competition. Hockey India has also pioneered in bringing top International hockey events to India such as the FIH Men’s World Cup in 2010 and 2018, FIH Champions Trophy in 2014, FIH Junior Men’s World Cup in 2016 and 2021, FIH Hockey World League Final in 2017. With its vision to popularize the game and constantly promote it, Hockey India brought the Indian Men’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world. Hockey India is also dedicated to getting the Indian Women’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world.

Follow us on: | Twitter: @TheHockeyIndia | Facebook:  Hockey India | Instagram: hockeyindia


Odisha – the Eastern State of India – is known for its love for Hockey and over the years it has evolved to be the Global Hub of Hockey. The State successfully hosted the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018, followed by the FIH Men’s Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha, FIH Olympic Qualifiers Odisha, and FIH Hockey Pro League 2020-21. Odisha has previously hosted the Champions Trophy 2014 and the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. Odisha also hosted the FIH Men’s Hockey Junior World Cup in 2021.

Kalinga Lancers, the team owned by the State, were the winners in the Hockey India League 2017. Taking a step further towards realising the dream of restoring the glory of Indian Hockey at the global level, the State is sponsoring the Indian Hockey Teams till 2033.

Odisha also hosted the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023.

Follow us on:


Leave A Reply