Oman, 28th August, 2023: The Indian Women’s Hockey Team entered the Final of the Women’s Asian Hockey 5s World Cup Qualifier after defeating Malaysia 9-5 in Salalah, Oman, on Monday. For India, Navjot Kaur (7’, 10, 17’), Monika Dipi Toppo (22’), Mahima Choudhary (14’), Mariana Kujur (9’, 12’) and Jyoti (21’, 26’) were on target. For Malaysia, Zati Muhamad (4’, 5’), Dian Nazeri (10’, 20’) and Aziz Zafirah (16’) were on target.

India started the match aggressively right from the start. However, it was Malaysia that broke the deadlock and took the lead through Zati Muhamad (4’) after she successfully converted the Challenge Goal. A minute later, Malaysia doubled their lead as Zati Muhamad (5’) was on the scoresheet again, scoring a fine field goal. India pulled one back through Captain Navjot Kaur’s strike (7’).

In-form Mariana Kujur (9’) then flawlessly converted the Challenge Goal to level the scores. With both teams constantly creating threatening attacks, Malaysia took the lead through Dian Nazeri (10’). India immediately counter-attacked and scored two goals in quick time to take the lead. Captain Navjot Kaur (10’) and Mariana Kujur (12’) scored the third and fourth goals for India. With a minute remaining in the first half, India extended their lead through Mahima Choudhary (14’). At the end of the first half, India were leading Malaysia by 5-3.

Both teams came out firing in the second half, making some threatening moves in front of each other’s goal. But it was Malaysia who got on the scoresheet through Aziz Zafirah (16’) after she converted the Challenge Goal. India added three more goals to their tally through Navjot Kaur (17’), Jyoti (21’) and Monika Dipi Toppo (22’) to make it 8-5 to India. With four minutes remaining, Jyoti (26’) scored the ninth goal for India. The match finished with the Indian Women’s Hockey Team winning 9-5.

India will now play the Final at 1930 hrs IST on Monday.
Women’s Asian Hockey 5s World Cup Qualifier will be live-streamed on

For more pictures, login to the Hockey India Photo Library:


Odisha (India’s Best Kept Secret) – Major Team Partner

Sports Authority of India (SAI)

Shiv Naresh 


HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body with exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men and women’s hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible towards promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).

Committed to the development of Hockey in the country, Hockey India with the assistance of Sports Authority of India and Department of Sports, Government of India, trains players at sub-junior, junior and senior level. The governing body engages in Coaching the coaches with International Standard certification programs, educates and equips technical officials and umpires to find a foothold in international arena, provides world-class infrastructure and International exposure for the players besides regular international competition. Hockey India has also pioneered in bringing top International hockey events to India such as the FIH Men’s World Cup in 2010 and 2018, FIH Champions Trophy in 2014, FIH Junior Men’s World Cup in 2016 and 2021, FIH Hockey World League Final in 2017. With its vision to popularize the game and constantly promote it, Hockey India brought the Indian Men’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world. Hockey India is also dedicated to getting the Indian Women’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world.

Follow us on: | Twitter: @TheHockeyIndia | Facebook:  Hockey India | Instagram: hockeyindia


Odisha – the Eastern State of India – is known for its love for Hockey and over the years it has evolved to be the Global Hub of Hockey. The State successfully hosted the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018, followed by the FIH Men’s Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha, FIH Olympic Qualifiers Odisha, and FIH Hockey Pro League 2020-21. Odisha has previously hosted the Champions Trophy 2014 and the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. Odisha also hosted the FIH Men’s Hockey Junior World Cup in 2021.

Kalinga Lancers, the team owned by the State, were the winners in the Hockey India League 2017. Taking a step further towards realising the dream of restoring the glory of Indian Hockey at the global level, the State is sponsoring the Indian Hockey Teams till 2033.

Odisha also hosted the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023.

Follow us on:



Leave A Reply