Football India

I-League 2nd Division groups declared, Six ISL teams to participate

I-League 2nd Divison

The preliminary round groups of the I-League 2nd Division have been announced with six ISL reserves sides set to take part this season.

Last year, Real Kashmir had emerged as the winner of the I-League 2nd Division and securing the qualification to the top division, the Hero I-League this year. They have performed well and currently sit on the second spot in the I-League standings with four wins out of eight matches played.

The format of the I-League 2nd Division

16 teams were divided into three groups with matches to be played on home and away basis. The winners of each group and the best second-placed team would qualify for the final round. However, if reserve teams of any of the ISL clubs finish as winners or runners-up in any group, the position will be passed on onto the next non-ISL team. The final round will be played at a central venue, the winners of which would be promoted to the I-League.

The three preliminary round groups of the 2nd Division are as follows:

Group 1: Lonestar Kashmir, Hindustan FC, ARA FC, FC Goa (Reserves), Bengaluru FC (Reserves)

Group 2: Fateh Hyderabad FC, Ozone FC, South United FC, Kerala Blasters FC (Reserves), Chennaiyin FC (Reserves)

Group 3: Chhinga Veng, TRAU FC, New Barrackpore Rainbow, Mohammedan Sporting, ATK (Reserves), Jamshedpur FC (Reserves)

Related posts

Day 6 Semi Finals: 3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship 2018 (Women)

Sachim Karekar

Team India Arrives In Myanmar On Diwali Eve For 2020 Olympic Qualifiers

Sachim Karekar

UEFA Champions League : Bayern Munich v Real Madrid Preview

Gaurav Kadam

1 comment

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More