New Delhi, 26th July 2023: Hockey India on Wednesday announced the 20-member Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team that will participate in the 4 Nations Tournament from 18th to 23rd August at Dusseldorf, Germany. India will play against England, Spain, and hosts Germany in the tournament, which will be part of the team’s preparations for the all-important 2023 Women’s FIH Hockey Junior World Cup, scheduled to be played in Santiago, Chile from 29th November to 10th December 2023.

~Defender Preeti to Captain the squad, while midfielder Rutuja Dadaso Pisal will serve as Vice Captain~

The team will be led by talented defender Preeti and Vice Captained by skilful midfielder Rutuja Dadaso Pisal.

The goalkeeping department will be entrusted to the talented duo of Madhuri Kindo and Khushboo, while the defenders’ list includes Preeti, Ropni Kumari, Anjali Barwa, Neelam, and Thounaojam Nirupama Devi.

Meanwhile, the midfield will witness the presence of dynamic players like Rutuja Dadaso Pisal, Manju Chorsiya, Sakshi Rana, Sujata Kujur, Bhumiksha Sahu, Jyoti Singh, Mahima Tete, and Hina Bano.

In the forward department, the team boasts a formidable line-up consisting of Annu, Deepika Soreng, Sunelita Toppo, Kajal Sadashiv Atpadkar, and Mumtaz Khan.

Speaking on the tour, Indian Women’s Junior Team Coach Tushar Khandker said, “The 4 Nations Tournament will be a great opportunity for our team to prove their mettle on an international stage again and implement our learnings from practice sessions.”

“Also, the tournament presents an ideal opportunity to hone our tactics and gauge our abilities against formidable opponents. This event will serve as a crucial means to pinpoint areas for enhancement, playing a pivotal role in our readiness for the Junior World Cup. We firmly believe that this valuable exposure will elevate our performance and equip us to confront the forthcoming challenges with confidence,” he added.

Indian Team:


1. Madhuri Kindo

2. Khushboo


3. Preeti (C)

4. Ropni Kumari

5. Anjali Barwa

6. Neelam

7. Thounaojam Nirupama Devi


8. Rutuja Dadaso Pisal (VC)

9. Manju Chorsiya

10. Sakshi Rana

11. Sujata Kujur

12. Bhumiksha Sahu

13. Jyoti Singh

14. Mahima Tete

15. Hina Bano


16. Annu

17. Deepika Soreng

18. Sunelita Toppo

19. Kajal Sadashiv Atpadkar

20. Mumtaz Khan


Odisha (India’s Best Kept Secret) – Major Team Partner    

Sports Authority of India (SAI)    

Shiv Naresh


HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body with exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men and women’s hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible towards promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).

Committed to the development of Hockey in the country, Hockey India with the assistance of Sports Authority of India and Department of Sports, Government of India, trains players at sub-junior, junior and senior level. The governing body engages in Coaching the coaches with International Standard certification programs, educates and equips technical officials and umpires to find a foothold in international arena, provides world-class infrastructure and International exposure for the players besides regular international competition. Hockey India has also pioneered in bringing top International hockey events to India such as the FIH Men’s World Cup in 2010 and 2018, FIH Champions Trophy in 2014, FIH Junior Men’s World Cup in 2016 and 2021, FIH Hockey World League Final in 2017. With its vision to popularize the game and constantly promote it, Hockey India brought the Indian Men’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world. Hockey India is also dedicated to getting the Indian Women’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world.

Odisha – the Eastern State of India – is known for its love for Hockey and over the years it has evolved to be the Global Hub of Hockey. The State successfully hosted the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018, followed by the FIH Men’s Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha, FIH Olympic Qualifiers Odisha, and FIH Hockey Pro League 2020-21. Odisha has previously hosted the Champions Trophy 2014 and the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. Odisha also hosted the FIH Men’s Hockey Junior World Cup in 2021.

Kalinga Lancers, the team owned by the State, were the winners in the Hockey India League 2017. Taking a step further towards realising the dream of restoring the glory of Indian Hockey at the global level, the State is sponsoring the Indian Hockey Teams till 2033.

Odisha also hosted the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023.


Leave A Reply