• Hockey Association of Odisha beat Kerala Hockey 13-0
  • Hockey Madhya Pradesh beat Telangana Hockey 36-0
  • Hockey Himachal beat Hockey Gujarat 10-1
  • Hockey Andhra Pradesh and Hockey Bengal drew 0-0 

Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh 17th February: Hockey Association of Odisha, Hockey Madhya Pradesh and Hockey Himachal added three points each to their tally after winning today’s encounters in the 13th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2023 Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh.

Hockey Association of Odisha went up against Kerala Hockey in the first Pool A encounter and emerged winners, beating Kerala Hockey by 13-0. Anupa Barla (7’, 37’, 46’, 59’) played an outstanding game, scoring on 4 occasions, while Namita Toppo (14’, 35’) and Punam Barla (30’, 40’) scored two goals each. The other goal scorers were Lilma Minz (10’), Asmita Barla (11’), Dipti Lakra (19’), Captain Jiwan Kishori Toppo (23’) and Anjela Toppo (60’). The star of the show, Rinki Kujur, completely controlled the game and earned the Player of the Match Award.

The day’s second match was a Pool G encounter between Hockey Madhya Pradesh and Telangana Hockey which Hockey Madhya Pradesh won by a comfortable 36-0 margin. Player of the Match, Preeti Dubey (1’, 5’, 16’, 20’, 26’, 28’, 40’, 42’, 54’, 55’, 56’) stole the show with her effortless 11 goal haul, “I feel extremely happy that Hockey India has given me the opportunity to participate in a tournament which feels just like an international match, having the option to take a video referral is certainly a new experience. All this motivates me to always give my best on the pitch and make this a regular occurrence in my career,” she said after winning the Player of the Match Award.

The other goal scorers for Hockey Madhya Pradesh were Captain Karishma Yadav (2’), Anjali Gautam (10’, 21’), Priyanka Wankhede (11’, 25’, 25’, 30’, 51’, 53’, 54’, 54’), Aishwarya Chavan (13’, 32’. 37’. 48’, 51’), Manmeet Kaur (18’, 46’), Suman Thoudam (22’), Yogita Bora (33’, 37’), Nilanjali Rai (35’), Diksha Tiwari (44’) and Upasana Singh (45’).

The third match from Pool F, a contest between Hockey Himachal and Hockey Gujarat was won by Hockey Himachal by a 10-1 scoreline. Hockey Himachal’s Tannu (8’, 44’, 45’, 50’) and Kanishka Rai (10’, 12’, 23’, 47’) scored 4 goals each with help from Gurpreet Kaur (35’) and Player of the Match, Ritu (47’) to secure the 3 points for their team. Prachi Patel (34’) managed to nick in a consolation goal for Hockey Gujarat during the game.

Elated after winning the Player of the Match Award, Ritu said, “I am always looking at ways to improve my game and Hockey India’s initiative to introduce these awards and raising the standard of the National Championships is the perfect way to gauge my improvement. I hope I keep performing well and help the team while winning more awards.”

The final match of the day between Hockey Andhra Pradesh and Hockey Bengal from Pool E ended in a 0-0 draw as both teams failed to control the game for a sustained period of time.

Hockey Karnataka will play Goans Hockey to kick off action in Pool B at 0700 and Hockey Jharkhand will take on Hockey Uttarakhand from Pool C at 0845 and Pool D match between Hockey Haryana and Hockey Bihar will start at 1030, Delhi Hockey will take on Manipur Hockey in Pool G while Hockey Maharashtra and Hockey Andaman & Nicobar from Pool H will play the last game of the day at 1545.

Catch all the action from the 13th Hockey India Senior Women’s Championship 2023 live exclusively on FanCode’s app (Android, iOS, TV), FanCode TV app is available on Android TV, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Jio STB, Samsung TV, and on www.fancode.com.

Hockey Fans can watch the tournament for free.

For live streaming of matches, click on: https://www.fancode.com/


Leave A Reply