Afghanistan all-rounder Mohammad Nabi, Nepal leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane, and Australian wicketkeeper-batsman Ben Dunk were the top stars at the CPL 2020 draft that was held virtually on June 24. All three players fetched deals worth USD 130,000 each, with Nabi being the first overall pick in the draft.

Mohammad Nabi of Afghanistan was signed for a deal worth USD 130,00 by St. Lucia Zouks

The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is scheduled to be played in Trinidad & Tobago between August 18 and September 10 behind closed doors, subject to the permission from the local government.

During this Draft players from Afghanistan were in major demand with the likes of Rashid Khan, Gurbaz, Qais Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad all being picked by the franchises.

On the other side a huge surprise came from Trinbago Knight Riders as they took the 48 year old Indian spinner Pravin Tambe into their squad.

Looking at the big money picks, Barbados Tridents bagged Rashid Khan and St Kitts and Nevis Patriots bought Chris Lynn with both of them being picked at a whopping 160,000 USD valuation. Carlos Brathwaite was bagged by Jamaica Tallawahs for a lucrative 110,000 USD.

Looking at other players Tridents retained Alex Hales, Sikandar Raza got his maiden CPL call up as he sets to play for Trinbago Knight Riders. Ross Taylor will represent Guyana Amazon Warriors this year as his 3rd team after he has played before for St Lucia Zouks and Jamaica Tallawahs.
Ish Sodhi and Rassie Van der dussen were signed by St Kitts and Nevis Patriots as some of the big signings.

CPL 2020 Squads List

Jamaica Tallawahs
Retained: Andre Russell, Rovman Powell, Glenn Phillips, Chadwick Walton, Oshane Thomas
Signed: Tabraiz Shamsi
Drafted: Sandeep Lamichhane, Carlos Brathwaite, Asif Ali, Fidel Edwards, Preston McSween, Andre McCarthy, Nicholas Kirton, Jeavor Royal, Nkrumah Bonner, Veerasammy Permaul, Ryan Persaud

St Lucia Zouks
Retained: Daren Sammy, Colin Ingram, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Obed McCoy, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kavem Hodge
Signed: Rilee Rossouw, Anrich Nortje, Noor Ahmad, Kimani Melius
Drafted: Mohammad Nabi, Chemar Holder, Mark Deyal, Leniko Boucher, Javelle Glen, Saad Bin Zafar

Trinbago Knight Riders
Retained: Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Amir Jangoo, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Ali Khan
Signed: Fawad Ahmed, Tim Seifert, Jayden Searles
Drafted: Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Pravin Tambe

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots
Retained: Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrell, Rayad Emrit, Alzarri Joseph, Dominic Drakes
Signed: Chris Lynn, Rassie van der Dussen, Sohail Tanvir, Ish Sodhi
Drafted: Ben Dunk, Dennis Bulli, Joshua Da Silva, Colin Archilbald, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Sunny Sohal
Via transfer: Denesh Ramdin

Barbados Tridents
Retained: Jason Holder, Harry Gurney, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Hayden Walsh Jr, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Raymon Reifer, Justin Greaves
Signed: Rashid Khan, Marcus Stoinis, Nyeem Young
Drafted: Alex Hales, Kyle Mayers, Joshua Bishop, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shayan Jayangir

Guyana Amazon Warriors
Retained: Imran Tahir, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Green, Keemo Paul, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Odean Smith, Anthony Bramble
Signed: Ross Taylor, Qais Ahmad, Kevin Sinclair
Drafted: Naveen-ul-Haq, Ashmead Nedd, Jessy Singh


Leave A Reply