A total of 8 sportspersons were conferred the Padma Shri Awards on Friday night including names like Gautam Gambhir, Sunil Chhetri and others.

Ministry of Home Affairs on Friday night announced a list of 94 names who were awarded the award among which eight were from different sporting arenas.
The list includes popular names who have represented the nation in a particular sport for a good length of time and have brought laurels in the process. Indian football legend and all-time highest goal scorer Sunil Chhetri who recently was a part of the Asian Cup 2019.
The complete list of the sportspersons awarded is as follows:

Bachendri Pal – Mountaineering (Padma Bhusan)

Padma Shri

Gautam Gambhir – Cricket

Harika Dronavalli – Chess

Sharath Kamal – Table Tennis

Bambayla Devi – Archery

Prashanti Singh – Basketball

Ajay Thakur – Kabaddi

Bajrang Punia – Wrestling

Former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir was awarded the Padma Shri award for his contribution to Indian cricket throughout his career. He was an integral part of the Indian team in their World Cup successes in 2007 and 2011.

Ajay Thakur and Bajrang Punia are other two eminent names in Indian sports who have been chosen for the Padma Shri award. While Ajay Thakur has led India in Kabaddi in several international tournaments, Bajrang Punia has won medals for India in wrestling. One of his most important accomplishments was winning the gold the medal in 2018 Asian Games.


Computer engineer bit by the sports bug.

Leave A Reply