The UEFA Executive Committee today met in Lisbon, Portugal, and appointed the Swiss Football Association as hosts of the 2025 UEFA Women’s EURO.

The sixteen-team tournament will take place in eight venues across Switzerland in the summer of 2025.

To be appointed as hosts, absolute majority was needed in the first round, and the voting results were as follows:

Candidate – Number of votes

Nordics (Denmark/Finland/Norway/Sweden) – 4

Poland – 4

Switzerland – 4

France – 1

A ballot between the three tied bids was therefore necessary to determine which two bidders should proceed to the second round, and it produced the following results:

Candidate – Number of votes

Switzerland – 6

Nordics (Denmark/Finland/Norway/Sweden) – 4

Poland – 3

The two bidders with most votes thus progressed to the second round and the final result were as follows:

Candidate – Number of votes

Switzerland – 9

Nordics (Denmark/Finland/Norway/Sweden) – 4

The next meeting of the UEFA Executive Committee is scheduled for 28 June at the House of European Football in Nyon, Switzerland.


Leave A Reply