Skip to content Skip to footer

Royal Challengers Bangalore : Will This Be Their Year Finally ?

The IPL started with a bang when Brendon McCullum, then playing for the Kolkata Knight Riders scored a massive 158 against the Royal Challengers Bangalore.
The Vijay Mallya-owned team RCB had performed poorly in the first season and came 2nd last on the numberas table. The team has come a long way since then and has remained a top contender for the title, despite never having won the tournament in its decade-long history. Led by Indian Captain Virat Kohli, the RCB displays a mixture of youth and experience but remains heavily dependent on its famous batting line up.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

The most impressive franchise of IPL not to have won the title, RCB captain, Virat Kohli would like to change that dubious record before the grand auction next year. Pawan Negi, who made the headlines after the 2016 auction, flew under the radar in this yearas auction but RCB were smart to pocket him for INR 1 crore. He may turn out to be theAall-round spin option which will add balance to their side.

Strengths: RCBas strength is undoubtedly their batting. In Virat Kohli, they have a captain who wears his heart on his sleeve and churns out runs consistently. The most destructive T20 opener in the world – Chris Gayle,Aand the flamboyant AB de Villiers, who can hit a cricket ball to any part of the ground, are two of RCBas key batsmen. Add KL Rahul, Shane Watson and Kedar Jadhav to the list and any bowling line up will be scratching their heads on how to contain them.

Weakness: Mitchel Starcas absence is a huge blow to RCB which they have attempted to fill by signing Tymal Mills. Mills, though impressive during the T20 series in India, will be tested on the batting-friendly Chinnaswamy Stadium. RCB has invested heavily in an uncapped Indian left-arm seamer, Aniket Chaudhary. It remains to be seen if he has the temperament to bowl to high-quality international batsmen.

Full Squad:

Existing players: Virat Kohli (C), KL Rahul, AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel, Mandeep Singh, Adam Milne, Sarfaraz Khan, S Aravind, Kedar Jadhav, Shane Watson, Stuart Binny, Samuel Badree, Iqbal Abdulla, Travis Head, Sachin Baby, Avesh Khan, Tabraiz Shamsi

Players Bought: Pawan Negi (1 Cr), Tymal Mills (12 Cr), Aniket Choudhary (INR 2 Cr), Praveen Dubey (10 Lakh), Billy Stanlake (30 Lakh)

Key Players :AChris Gayle, AB De Villiers, Virat Kohli

Our Prediction : Playoffs Place, Possibly even the Final

List of Matches:

Match 1: SRH vs RCB, April 5, 2017, 20:00 IST
Match 2: RCB vs Delhi Daredevils, April 8, 2017, 20:00 IST
Match 3: Kings XI Punjab vs RCB, April 10, 2017, 20:00 IST
Match 4: RCB vs Mumbai Indians, April 14, 2017, 16:00 IST
Match 5: RCB vs Rising Pune Supergiant, April 16, 2017, 20:00 IST
Match 6: Gujarat Lions vs RCB, April 18, 2017, 20:00 IST
Match 7: KKR vs RCB, April 23, 2017, 20:00 IST
Match 8: RCB vs SRH, April 25, 2017, 20:00 IST
Match 9: RCB vs Gujarat Lions, April 27, 2017, 20:00 IST
Match 10: Rising Pune Supergiant vs RCB, April 29, 2017, 16:00 IST
Match 11: Mumbai Indians vs RCB, May 1, 2017, 16:00 IST
Match 12: RCB vs Kings XI Punjab, May 5, 2017, 20:00 IST
Match 13: RCB vs KKR, May 7, 2017, 16:00 IST
Match 14: Delhi Daredevils vs RCB, May 15, 2017, 20:00 IST

Leave a comment