Rourkela, Odisha 07th July 2023: Hockey Madhya Pradesh has been crowned as the Champions of the 13th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship 2023 after defeating Hockey Jharkhand 1-0 in the Finals of the tournament. Meanwhile, Hockey Haryana defeated Chhattisgarh Hockey 12-2 in the Bronze Medal match.

~ Hockey Madhya Pradesh defeated Hockey Jharkhand 1-0 to win the Gold Medal ~

~ Hockey Haryana defeated Chhattisgarh Hockey 12-2 to win the Bronze Medal ~ 

In the final match, both the teams displayed extreme grit and determination to win the title but Hockey Madhya Pradesh managed to defeat Hockey Jharkhand 1-0 in a closely contested encounter. Gurmail Kaur (22′) scored the only goal for Hockey Madhya Pradesh.

Also in the match for 3rd/4th position, Hockey Haryana defeated Chhattisgarh Hockey 12-2. Sukhpreet Kaur (3′, 9′, 12′, 51′) stood out to be the top goal scorer as she scored four goals in the game. Kanika Siwach (8′, 22′, 34′) also scored a hat-trick whereas Saavi (16′, 23′) scored a brace for Hockey Haryana. Bhteri (6′), Manisha (15’+) and Sejal (41′) scored a goal each as Hockey Haryana went on to win by a heavy margin.  On the other side, Geeta Yadav (10′, 46′) scored both the goals for Chhattisgarh Hockey.


Odisha (India’s Best Kept Secret) – Major Team Partner 

Sports Authority of India (SAI) 

Shiv Naresh 

HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body with exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men and women’s hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible towards promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).

Committed to the development of Hockey in the country, Hockey India with the assistance of Sports Authority of India and Department of Sports, Government of India, trains players at sub-junior, junior and senior level. The governing body engages in Coaching the coaches with International Standard certification programs, educates and equips technical officials and umpires to find a foothold in international arena, provides world-class infrastructure and International exposure for the players besides regular international competition. Hockey India has also pioneered in bringing top International hockey events to India such as the FIH Men’s World Cup in 2010 and 2018, FIH Champions Trophy in 2014, FIH Junior Men’s World Cup in 2016 and 2021, FIH Hockey World League Final in 2017. With its vision to popularize the game and constantly promote it, Hockey India brought the Indian Men’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world. Hockey India is also dedicated to getting the Indian Women’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world.

About ODISHA  
Odisha – the Eastern State of India – is known for its love for Hockey and over the years it has evolved to be the Global Hub of Hockey. The State successfully hosted the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018, followed by the FIH Men’s Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha, FIH Olympic Qualifiers Odisha, and FIH Hockey Pro League 2020-21. Odisha has previously hosted the Champions Trophy 2014 and the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. Odisha also hosted the FIH Men’s Hockey Junior World Cup in 2021.

Kalinga Lancers, the team owned by the State, were the winners in the Hockey India League 2017. Taking a step further towards realising the dream of restoring the glory of Indian Hockey at the global level, the State is sponsoring the Indian Hockey Teams till 2033.

Odisha also hosted the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023.


Leave A Reply